For Exemplary Bravery

Queen's Gallantry Medals

For Exemplary Bravery
The Queen's Gallantry Medal
by  Nick Metcalfe  MBE, QGM

Since 1974—when it replaced awards in the Order of the British Empire ‘for Gallantry’—the Queen’s Gallantry Medal has been the United Kingdom’s third level award for bravery, after the George Cross and the George Medal.

At the time of publication the medal had been awarded on 1,044 occasions—including 19 second awards and 38 posthumous awards—to men and women from the United Kingdom, from across the Commonwealth and to foreign citizens.

This is the most comprehensive study of the Queen's Gallantry Medal to be published, and is a fitting tribute to the men and women to whom it has been awarded.

Contact Nick Metcalfe

Help spread the word about For Exemplary Bravery

Join us on Facebook

Website Design by Woodham Web Writer